Skip to main content

Academic Resource Center: How to make a Bibliography

Chicago Manual Bibliography Page Citation Guide

CMS Citation has been broken down into three sections: Print Sources, Online Sources, and Online Periodicals. For further examples and instruction, ask a teacher, librarian, or stop by the Academic Resource Center.

Chicago Style Bibliography

  1. The sources you used to research your paper are all gathered together in a “Bibliography” which is attached to the end of the paper.
  2. Create the bibliography as you gather your sources, to help you keep track of where you found your information! This will also help you with your footnotes as you create outlines and drafts of your paper.
  3. Citations in the Bibliography are alphabetized by author’s last name, or by title if there is no author, and are aligned to the left margin in the first line, with all subsequent lines indented (a hanging tab).
  4. No date of access required for online/digital sources.
  5. Include page range whenever possible – for example, if you used a chapter in your textbook, include those pages in the citation.

Examples of Citations for Print Sources

Basic Book Format:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of the Book. Publication City: Publisher, Year.

 

Textbook:

Cole, Joshua, and Judith Coffin G. Western Civilizations: Their History & Their Culture. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2012.

 

Scholarly Journal (paginated by issue):

Baelish, Petyr. “King’s Landing: A Geopolitical Analysis of Machiavellian Machinations in Westeros.” Seven Kingdoms

Studies in Diplomacy 15, no. 1 (1973): 41–50.

 

Daily Newspaper:

            West, Kanye. “I’ma Let You Finish.” Los Angeles Times, September 3, 2009.

Examples of Citations for Online Sources

For online sources, CMS requires the DOI (digital object identifiers) or URL at the end of the citation.

Whole Website:

Library of Congress. "Woody Guthrie and the Archive of American Folk Song: Correspondence, 1940-1950." Accessed January 12, 2016.

http://www.loc.gov/collections/woody-guthrie-correspondence-from-1940-to-1950.

 

Electronic Book:

Lopes, Paul. Demanding Respect: The Evolution of the American Comic Book. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2009. Accessed January 12,

2016. http://site.ebrary.com/lib/kentschool/detail.action?docID=10292356.

 

Examples of Citations for Online Periodicals

CMS periodical citations include author name, article title, publication title, publication date, and issue information. CMS also requires citation of a DOI or URL if the journal was accessed online.

Scholarly Journal Article from a Library Database:

 

With URL:

Siegel, Fred. "Clown Politics: Report on the International Clown-Theatre Congress." TDR (1988-) 36, no. 2 (1992): 182-

86. Accessed January 12, 2016. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1146206.

           

With DOI:

Rees, Charlotte E., and Lynn V. Monrouxe. ""I Should Be Lucky Ha Ha Ha Ha:" The Construction of Power, Identity

and Gender Through Laughter within Medical Workplace Learning Encounters." Journal of Pragmatics 42, no.

12 (2010): 384-99. Accessed January 12, 2106. doi:10.1016/j.pragma.2010.05.004.

 

Online Magazine/Newspaper Article: 

 

With URL:       

Piggy, M. “Of Frogs and Men.” Nature. February 19, 2005. Accessed January 12, 2016. 

http://www.nature.com/articles/frogs_and_men.

 

With DOI:

Stokstad, Erik. "Loss of Dung Beetles Puts Ecosystems in Deep Doo-Doo." Science 305, no. 5688 (2004): 1230.

Accessed January 12, 2016. doi:10.1126/science.305.5688.1230a.