Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will point you in the direction of the best library databases, books and recommended open web sources to help you with your project. If you need help, please don't hesitate to ask!
Check the assignment for expectations.
The books are available for all students in the main reading room of the library; they may not be checked out.
New How Things Work by
Call Number: REF T47.L2923 2004
Learn about the objects and ideas we encounter every day, and that are changing our lives, from DVDs and MP3s to plasma screen TVs and wireless Internet technology.
Scientific American Inventions and Discoveries by
Call Number: REF T15 .C378 2004
A unique A-to-Z reference of brilliance in innovation and invention. Topics include: aerosol spray * barbed wire * canned food * carburetor * encryption machine * fork * fuel cell * latitude * music synthesizer * positron * radar * steel * television * traffic lights
Inventors and Inventions by
Call Number: REF T15 .I62 2007
From air conditioners to MRI scanners and from bicycles to frozen foods, modern life would be unimaginable without the work of inventors. Unlike other resources on inventions, Inventors and Inventions surprises readers with its wide-ranging exploration of inventors of the past and present, including the creators of Kevlar, Coca Cola, eBay, and the Global Positioning System.
Online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
Science In Context
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Science Reference Center
Contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals.
Sample Books Available in the Library
These are a sample of some of the books available in the library collection. You may check any of these books out.
The Evolution of Useful Things by
Call Number: T212 .P465 1994
How everyday artifacts - from forks and pins to paper clips and zippers - came to be as they are
American Inventions by
Call Number: T21 .V36 2004
A History of Curious, Extraordinary, & Just Plain Useful Patents
The Pencil; A History of Design and Circumstance by
Call Number: TS1268 .P47 2011
Henry Petroski traces the origins of the pencil back to ancient Greece and Rome, writes factually and charmingly about its development over the centuries and around the world, and shows what the pencil can teach us about engineering and technology today.
The Toothpick by
Call Number: GT2952 P48 2008
The toothpick has been an omnipresent, yet often overlooked part of our daily lives. Here, with an engineer's eye for detail and a poet's flair for language, Henry Petroski takes us on an incredible tour of this most interesting invention.
Brilliant; The Evolution of Artificial Light by
Call Number: TH7900 .B68 2010
Jane Brox traces the fascinating history of human light, from the stone lamps of the Pleistocene to the LEDs embedded in fabrics of the future.
507 Mechanical Movements by
Call Number: TJ181 .B87 2008
Ranging from simple to complex, the mechanisms include cranks, pulleys, drills, wheels, and screws.
The Way Things Work by
Call Number: T47.M18 1988
From levers to lasers, from cameras to computers, this 384-page volume is a remarkable overview of the machines and inventions that shape our lives, amusingly presented with a large dose of Macaulay's wit and personality.
Using the US Patent and Trade Office
Patent and Trademark - effective searching, etc.
General and Interdisciplinary Databases
Over 2,000 scholarly journals with many dating back to the first volume ever published.
A premier source of peer-reviewed and scholarly content across the academic disciplines, with millions of full-text articles available.
Advanced Placement Source
A wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects.
News, magazines, and periodical articles on a wide range of general interest topics.