Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. History: Primary Sources | Library Resources

Primary Sources

A primary source is an original work by a participant or witness to any particular event or place in time.  Primary sources allow you to view and analyze photographs, news reports, plays, literature, diaries, letters, legal documents and other material from the time of your event. While secondary sources have already interpreted and analyzed the source, looking at primary documents and objects allows you to think for yourself and form your own opinions.

Databases for Primary Sources

Databases for Primary Sources

American History Online
A virtual library of American history for educators, students, and researchers of all ages.

Ancestry
Access to millions of historical records, including primary source newspapers. Access is only available on campus

ImageQuest
Over 3 Million images from 62 leading collections. 

JSTOR
Over 2,000 scholarly journals with primary sources and peer-reviewed articles

U.S. History In Context
An overview of the U.S.’s past that covers the most-studied events, and decades

Fold 3
This database specializes in historical military records, city and town directories, and other materials mostly from the United States.

American History, 1493-1945
This primary source collection covers the major themes of the period from colonization to World War II

African American Studies

Salem Press Online

Print and Ebook Primary Sources

Some of the Primary Source Reference Books/ eBooks in Our Collection

Print

Print

Print

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook

Print/ eBook