Databases - Thomsen | Advanced Studies in U.S. Government and Politics

Best U.S. History Databases

American History Online This link opens in a new window
A virtual library of American history for educators, students, and researchers of all ages.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Over 57,000 historical documents, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and 80 hours of historical video.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines that cover events in U.S. history.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
An overview of the U.S.’s past that covers the most-studied events, and decades.

Best Databases for Scholarly Articles

Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window
A wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Over 57,000 historical documents, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and 80 hours of historical video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 scholarly journals with many dating back to the first volume ever published.

Best Sources for Newspapers

Hartford Courant (1922 - current) This link opens in a new window
The largest daily newspaper in the state of Connecticut.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Offers over 860 full-text newspapers, 35 million full-text articles, and 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times (1980 - present) This link opens in a new window
Coverage back to 1980 through this ProQuest database link. For access to older content, please set up an account at nytimes.com/passes using your Kent network e-mail address and any password.

Accessing the New York Times

As a Kent School student or employee, you are eligible for a free digital subscription to

The New York Times. To start your account please follow all three steps:

1. Go to nytimes.com/passes

2. Create a free account using your Kent School e-mail and ANY password (DO NOT "log in with Google" the first time - after setup you can)

3. Check your Kent School e-mail account for a verification e-mail message, and click the link inside it to activate your account. Once your account is activated, you will have digital access on all devices with this logon. You can download mobile apps by visiting nytimes.com/mobile if you wish.

4. Go to The New York Times online and log in with your Kent School account.

John Gray Park '28 Library

About

Research

Resources

Support

Thomsen | Advanced Studies in U.S. Government and Politics: Databases

Best U.S. History Databases

Best Databases for Scholarly Articles

Best Sources for Newspapers

Accessing the New York Times