An introduction to American utopias—from the first Puritan settlements to the communes of the 1960s—through literary works and manuscript collections in the Beinecke Library.

Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in 1000 CE to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

La Relación (Report), or what came to be called Naufragios (Shipwrecked), is Cabeza de Vaca's official account of his travels, prepared for the Spanish crown. The work was first published in Zamora, Spain, in 1542.

Thousands of maps of North America from the earliest printed portrayals to the close of the 19th century; multiple versions and editions allow for historical comparisons.

No portrait of Columbus drawn or painted from life is known to exist. Many images depicting Columbus and his activities, however, can be found in this Library of Congress collection.

100 maps depicting early representations of New England and North America.

A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

Primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images, and music.

Information and primary source documents organized by five overarching topics (Contact, Exploration, Settlement, Permanence, Power).

This collection provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American and European worlds.

Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in 1000 CE to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

Primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images, and music.

Archival and manuscript materials from the Harvard Library collection that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America.

Lives and events recorded in newspapers, official documents and personal correspondence between the pivotal years of 1764-1776.

The public records of the Colony of Connecticut for the years 1636-1776.

This well organized site offers readings, primary sources, teaching resources, and audio-visual resources

A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

Online access to select volumes of the Society's publications, representing the Society's archives on the early history of Massachusetts. Document dates range from approximately the 1620s to the 1860s, along with the transactions of the Society itself from its establishment in 1892 to the 1960s.

Presents a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, and more.

A digital research, teaching and learning project that explores the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and the Virginia experiment.

Cornell’s Witchcraft Collection contains over 3,000 titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft, primarily in Europe.

Primary sources, namely court records and proceedings, from the Salem Witch Trials.

Original documents from 1692, items related to Peabody Essex Museum exhibitions about the witch trials, and more.

Learn about the people and places involved in the Salem Witch Trials through court records, letters, sermons, maps, and more.