Chronicles the history of racial slavery in the United States -- from the start of the Atlantic slave trade in the 16th century to the end of the American Civil War in 1865. Includes narrative and primary sources.

This collections includes speeches, sermons, proceedings, and other publications from the years 1725-1911.

Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

Important manuscripts, photographs, and artifacts documenting the abolitionist movement in Boston.

Unlike most studies of Harlem in the early twentieth century, this project focuses not on black artists and the black middle class, but on the lives of ordinary African New Yorkers. It does so primarily by systematically exploring a sample of legal records and black newspapers.

Texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The papers of nineteenth-century African American abolitionist Frederick Douglass (1818-1895), who escaped from slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher, consist of approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images).

A Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861–1867. This is a leading online resource for the history of emancipation and Reconstruction.

Founded by Rev. Peter Williams, Jr. and other free black men in New York City, it was published weekly as a four-page, four-column newspaper, starting with the March 16, 1827 issue.

Database of fugitives from North American slavery. It includes access to runaway ads. Created to control the movement of enslaved people, they ultimately preserved the details of individual lives--their personality, appearance, and life story.

Interviews, trial proceedings, maps, and more - all related to the trial of abolitionist leader John Brown.

Established by an act of congress in 2003, the NMAAHC is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

A Digital Archive of historical sources related to Nat Turner and the Southampton County slave revolt of 1831 - the only large-scale slave rebellion ever to occur in the United States.

The records displayed in this exhibit document the Scotts' early struggle to gain their freedom through litigation and are the only extant records of this significant case as it was heard in the St. Louis Circuit Court.

Primary and secondary source material highlighting the enslaved experience, including runaways and resistance.

A growing digital collection highlighting materials related to Black history and culture from Harvard University's Houghton Library. Searchable by topic or time period.

Compiles records of the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas.

A mapping of slavery’s end during the American Civil War. It finds patterns in the collapse of southern slavery, mapping the interactions between federal policies, armies in the field, and the actions of enslaved men and women on countless farms and city blocks.

Examines the illegal trans-Atlantic slave trade through the voyage and capture of the slave ship Echo in 1858.

Experience the tumultuous year of 1963 through press conferences, letters, photographs, video footage, and more.

Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the American Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University.

This collection of items includes film footage, speeches, correspondence, first-hand accounts, photographs, forms and other documents relating to voter registration efforts and poll taxes in Mississippi.

This collection contains a digital video archive of historical news film, a virtual library of digital collections, and more.

This digital collection of the series contains the complete interviews conducted by Blackside for Eyes on the Prize I, including sections that appeared in the final program and the outtakes.

This resource houses the multi-volume 'Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. Project,' a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts.

Digital media about Malcolm X, featuring video interviews with people who knew Malcolm, government documents, and archival footage.

The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000.

This documentary website tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation.

Television news footage, and related materials, from the Civil Rights Era (1950-1970).

Voices from the Southern Civil Rights Movement
presents educational and noncommercial radio programs from the 1950s and 1960s that offer historic testimonies – in interviews, speeches, and on-the-spot news reports – from many movement participants, both well-known and unknown.

A digital archive of documents and audio recordings related to the 1965 book by Robert Penn Warren, Who Speaks for the Negro?