This primary source set uses documents, photographs, videos, and news stories to tell the story of the first decade of the American Indian Movement.

Digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.

This primary source set uses documents, images, and music to reveal the story of Cherokee removal, which is part of a larger story known as the Trail of Tears.

Diary entries, book excerpts, photographs, and more that help shed light on the fledgling alliances and the impact of colonialist expansion on the Native American way of life.

Historical documents and other materials housed at the National Archives throughout the country include information relating to American Indians from the 18th through the 21st century.

The North American Indian by Edward S. Curtis is one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced. In over 2000 photogravure plates and narrative, Curtis portrayed the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes.

First published in 1727, "Indian Converts, or Some account of the lives and dying speeches of a considerable number of the Christianized Indians of Martha's Vineyard" was written by Experience Mayhew and provides insights into the lives and culture of four generations of Native Americans in colonial America.

Includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's.

Contains primary source materials by, on, or about Northeast Indians from repositories around the world.

Over 2,000 documents and images dating from 1730 to 1842 on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S., letters, legal proceedings, military orders, and more.

This site from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Center for Digital Research in the Humanities provides links to several resources for Native American Indian treaties research.

Contains the text of congressional debates, presidential correspondence, and other primary sources related to the Indian Removal Act.

Kappler's Indian Affairs is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

Provides access to Constitutions, Tribal Codes and other legal documents.

Historical constitutions and legal materials digitized from the Law Library of Congress collection.

Text of treaties adopted between 1778 and 1868.

Includes "agreements between tribal nations and the United States (1778-1886) published in the 1904 work “Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties” (Volume II), compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. As you view the treaties in this database, editorial margin notes are included.

This collection of photos and documents shows what life was like for the many children enrolled in American Indian boarding schools.

Student records, correspondence, photographs, and more primary sources from the National Archives, Dickinson College, Cumberland County Historical Society, and others.

Photographs and documents related to Indian boarding schools from the Library of Congress.